The Drugstore Skincare Edit #1

“Will everyone that still struggles with hormonal acne breakouts say I?”

“I!”

At 23, I never thought that pimples would still be making an appearance, but here we are! For ten years, I have poked and prodded at my skin with everything that the beauty industry could throw at me.

Masks? Definitely. Pimple patches? You bet…

The influx of information that is thrown our way as skincare consumers can be overwhelming, to say the least. Scouring the shelves of Boots and other drugstores became a hobby in itself, trying to find out which of the ingredients on the long inkey lists aka ingredients list would break me out next. Everyone’s skin is different, so it takes a lot of practice to find out what works best for you. However, I have come across some gems at the drugstore that won’t cost you an arm and a leg or cause unnecessary flare-ups of angry spots.

Face

The Cerave Hydrating Facial Wash has been an absolute winner in keeping my skin happy. Is it glamorous? No. Does it do the job? Definitely. Cerave is known for their no-frills, ‘does what it says on the tin’ approach to skincare. With hydrating and protective ceramides that help maintain the skins’ natural barrier and niacinamide to help improve the appearance of enlarged pores, this facewash is definitely worth giving a whirl. As a second cleanse, Cerave works a treat, but it does not remove makeup effectively so be sure to use a makeup remover beforehand.

Neutrogena is a well-known skincare brand loved by many around the world. Their Hydro Boost Range caught my eye during the summer when heavy moisturisers felt like a deathwish. The Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gel-Cream called out to me, and I had to listen.
This moisturiser packs a punch and makes you look beautifully juicy but is light enough to not make you feel like you’re suffocating your skin. Who doesn’t want to glow all year round?

A bottle of water in a spray-can doesn’t scream out miracle-worker. However, the Avene Thermal Water Spray has me second-guessing. Avene Thermal Water has graced the shelves of Parisian beauty cabinets for decades and because of my unhealthy obsession with anything Parisian, let’s just say I fell for the hype. Refreshing and soothing, this is the perfect thing to help with redness caused by sensitivity or just good ol’ heat from the sun.

Body

Cerave has taken the trophy again for me in the drugstore department. The Moisturising Cream tub is my saviour from scaly winter skin. Fragrance-free and safe to use on the face and body, it is the perfect two-in-one option. At £14.50 for 430 ml, it is a steal. The ceramides in this good’un create a barrier that you can still feel hours later that prevents water loss from the skin. Applying it to damp skin traps the moisture but does not leave a greasy film that would get in the way of putting on your clothes in the morning!

What are some of your favourite drugstore skincare items?

Leave a comment down below!

Leave a comment